LIVE › 4-5 a.m. SportsCenter AM
NEXT › 5 a.m. ESPN SportsCenter
5:05 a.m. Mike and Mike
6 a.m. ESPN SportsCenter
6:40 a.m. Twin Cities Sports Update - with Dave Harrigan and Kenny Olson
6:55 a.m. Twin Cities Sports Update - with Dave Harrigan and Kenny Olson
7 a.m. ESPN SportsCenter
Updated: December 19th, 2010 7:25pm
'50 Greatest Vikings' list unveiled

'50 Greatest Vikings' list unveiled

by Tom Pelissero
Email | Twitter
SportsWire Daily

Get the 1500 ESPN SportsWire delivered to your inbox daily, and keep up with all the news in Twin Cities Sports


MINNEAPOLIS -- As a season marked by disappointment winds to a close, the Minnesota Vikings paused to honor the past on Sunday night, as more than 100 current and former players gathered for a gala at the Minneapolis Convention Center.

The event also included the release of the team's "50 Greatest Vikings" list, with most of its members in attendance. The players also will be honored at halftime of Monday's game against the Chicago Bears at TCF Bank Stadium.

The following is the complete list, which was released in alphabetical order. The players were not ranked:

Grady Alderman, T, 1961-74
Jared Allen, DE, 2008-present
Matt Birk, C, 1998-08
Matt Blair, LB, 1974-85
Bill Brown, RB, 1962-74
Joey Browner, S, 1983-91
Bobby Bryant, CB, 1967-80
Anthony Carter, WR, 1985-93
Cris Carter, WR, 1990-2001
Fred Cox, K, 1963-77
Daunte Culpepper, QB, 1999-2005
Chris Doleman, DE, 1985-93, 1999
Carl Eller, DE, 1964-78
Chuck Foreman, RB, 1973-79
John Gilliam, WR, 1972-75
Bud Grant, head coach, 1967-83, 1985
Wally Hilgenberg, LB, 1968-79
Steve Hutchinson, G, 2006-present
Tim Irwin, T, 1981-93
Steve Jordan, TE, 1982-94
Tommy Kramer, QB, 1977-89
Paul Krause, S, 1968-79
Gary Larsen, DT, 1965-74
Carl Lee, CB, 1983-93
Jim Marshall, DE, 1961-79
Randall McDaniel, G, 1988-99
Keith Millard, DT, 1985-91
Randy Moss, WR, 1998-2004, 2010
Dave Osborne, RB, 1965-75
Alan Page, DT, 1967-78
Adrian Peterson, RB, 2007-present
John Randle, DT, 1990-2000
Ahmad Rashad, WR, 1976-82
Ed Sharockman, 1962-72
Jeff Siemon, LB, 1972-82
Robert Smith, RB, 1993-2000
Scott Studwell, LB, 1977-90
Doug Sutherland, DT, 1971-81
Fran Tarkenton, QB, 1961-66, 1972-78
Henry Thomas, DT, 1987-94
Mick Tingelhoff, C, 1962-78
Stu Voigt, TE, 1970-80
Gene Washington, WR, 1967-72
Ed White, G, 1969-77
Sammy White, WR, 1976-86
Kevin Williams, DT, 2003-present
Antoine Winfield, CB, 2004-present
Roy Winston, LB, 1962-76
Ron Yary, T, 1968-81
Gary Zimmerman, T, 1986-92

Tom Pelissero is Senior Editor and columnist for He hosts from 6 to 8 p.m. weeknights and co-hosts from 10 a.m. to noon Sundays on 1500 ESPN Twin Cities.
Email Tom | @TomPelissero | Tom Pelissero