LIVE › 1-3 a.m. Mike Tirico's Weekend Blitz
NEXT › 3:05 a.m. The Mort Report Replay
4:05 a.m. Mike Tirico's Weekend Blitz College
5:05 a.m. Race Day
6:05 a.m. The Sporting Life
7:05 a.m. Minnesota Home Talk
8:05 a.m. Cover Your Assets
Updated: January 7th, 2012 1:14pm
Cris Carter, Chris Doleman finalists for Pro Football Hall of Fame

Cris Carter, Chris Doleman finalists for Pro Football Hall of Fame

by Judd Zulgad
Email | Twitter
SportsWire Daily

Get the 1500 ESPN SportsWire delivered to your inbox daily, and keep up with all the news in Twin Cities Sports


Will this be the year that Cris Carter is elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame?

It was announced Saturday that the former Minnesota Vikings wide receiver is among 15 modern-era finalists who will be considered for election to the Hall when the 44-member selection committee meets Feb. 4 in Indianapolis, the day before Super Bowl XLVI.

Former Vikings defensive end Chris Doleman also made the list of finalists.

Carter, who spent time with the Eagles, Vikings and Dolphins and now works for ESPN as an analyst, missed the selection committee's first cut for the second conseuctive year last February. When Carter retired in 2002, he ranked second on the NFL's all-time list for receptions (1,101) and touchdowns (130).

Doleman was the fourth-overall pick in the 1985 draft by the Vikings and went on to become an eight-time Pro Bowl selection and three-time first-team All-Pro. He had 150.5 career sacks as he spent 10 of his NFL seasons with the Vikings.

Doleman already has been a two-time semifinalist for election to the Hall. His 21 sacks in 1989 stood as the Vikings' single-season record until Jared Allen broke the mark last Sunday. Allen finished the 2011 season with 22 sacks.

A finalist must receive a minimum positive vote of 80 percent to be elected.

The modern-era finalists were determined by a vote of the Hall's selection committee from a list of 105 preliminary nominees that had been reduced to a list of 26 semifinalists. After the selection committee meets, the results will be announced from the Super Bowl media headquarters.

Although there isn't a set number of enshrinees for any class, the Hall's ground rules stipulate that between four and seven new members will be selected each year.

Among the semifinalist who did not make the cut were former NFL commissioner Paul Tagliabue and former San Francisco 49ers running back Roger Craig, who finished his career with the Vikings in 1993.

Judd Zulgad is a columnist for He co-hosts "Mackey & Judd" from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. weekdays and "Saturday Morning SportsTalk" from 10 a.m. to noon on 1500 ESPN Twin Cities.
Email Judd | @1500ESPNJudd | Mackey & Judd
In this story: Jared Allen