LIVE › 4-7 p.m. The Ride with Reusse
NEXT › 5:15 p.m. Kevin Seifert - NFC North Blogger -
5:30 p.m. Dow Jones Money Report - with Bruce Vale from the Wall Street Journal
6 p.m. ESPN SportsCenter
7 p.m. ESPN SportsCenter
7:05 p.m. The Beer Show
8 p.m. ESPN SportsCenter
Updated: December 10th, 2013 3:06pm
Jerry Kill named Regional Coach of the Year by one coaches association

Jerry Kill named Regional Coach of the Year by one coaches association

by Derek Wetmore
Email | Twitter

After an eight-win season, Gophers head coach Jerry Kill on Tuesday received a 2013 Regional Coach of the Year Award from the American Football Coaches Association, according to Joe Christensen of the Star Tribune.

The Association recognizes five coaches in each of five divisions. Kill is joined in the FBS by Jimbo Fisher (Florida State), Gary Pinkel (Missouri), Art Briles (Baylor) and David Shaw (Stanford).

Another coach with local ties, Aaron Keen (Minnesota State-Manakato) earned repeat recognition in Division II. Steve Johnson (Bethel) received a nod in Division III.

The recognition dinner is scheduled for Jan. 14 in Indianapolis. At that same convention, the national winner in each division will be announced. All head coaches who were eligible for regional honors are eligible for national honors as well, according to the AFCA's website.

The Gophers will have a shot at their ninth win of the season Dec. 27, when they square off with Syracuse (6-6) in the Texas Bowl.

Here is the list of winners, from the AFCA's website: 

2013 AFCA Regional Coach of the Year Winners

Football Bowl Subdivision
Region 1: Jimbo Fisher, Florida State University
Region 2: Gary Pinkel, University of Missouri
Region 3: Jerry Kill, University of Minnesota
Region 4: Art Briles, Baylor University
Region 5: David Shaw, Stanford University

Football Championship Subdivision
Region 1: Joe Moorhead, Fordham University & Jack Cosgrove, University of Maine (tie)
Region 2: Jamey Chadwell, Charleston Southern University
Region 3: Dino Babers, Eastern Illinois University*
Region 4: Craig Bohl, North Dakota State University
Region 5: Ron Roberts, Southeastern Louisiana University

Division II 
Region 1: George Mihalik, Slippery Rock University
Region 2: Scott Maxfield, Henderson State University
Region 3: Bill Conley, Ohio Dominican University
Region 4: Josh Lynn, Eastern New Mexico University
Region 5: Aaron Keen, Minnesota State University-Mankato*

Division III
Region 1: Mike Welch, Ithaca College
Region 2: Jim Monos, Lebanon Valley College
Region 3: Pete Fredenburg, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor*
Region 4: Tom Arth, John Carroll University
Region 5: Steve Johnson, Bethel (Minn.) University

Region 1: Chris Oliver, Lindsey Wilson College
Region 2: Mike Woodley, Grand View University
Region 3: Larry Wilcox, Benedictine (Kan.) College
Region 4: Ross Cimpl, Dakota Wesleyan University
Region 5: Mike Van Diest, Carroll (Mont.) College
*-2012 winner

Derek Wetmore is the senior editor for His previous stops include and the Minnesota Daily.
Email Derek | @DerekWetmore