NBA admits Kobe Bryant got away with a foul late in win over Wolves
Get the 1500 ESPN SportsWire delivered to your inbox daily, and keep up with all the news in Twin Cities Sports
A person with knowledge of the discussions says the NBA has informed the Minnesota Timberwolves that the referee crew erred on Wednesday night in not calling a foul on Lakers guard Kobe Bryant on the final play of the game.
The person, who spoke on condition of anonymity because an official announcement has not been made, said the league contacted the Timberwolves on Thursday to inform them they reviewed the play.
The league said Bryant should have been called for a foul for hitting Wolves guard Ricky Rubio on the right wrist just as he released a potential game-tying 3-point shot. No foul was called, and the Lakers held on for a 120-117 victory.
Bryant scoffed after the game when asked about and said "you don't call that."© The Associated Press