LIVE › 8-9 p.m. ESPN Radio Tonight
NEXT › 9 p.m. ESPN SportsCenter
9:05 p.m. Sports Center Tonight
10 p.m. ESPN SportsCenter
11 p.m. ESPN SportsCenter
Midnight ESPN SportsCenter
Updated: November 26th, 2012 4:04pm
NFL admits Mistral Raymond's overturned TD was reviewed twice

NFL admits Mistral Raymond's overturned TD was reviewed twice

by Judd Zulgad and Tom Pelissero
1500ESPN.com
Email | Twitter
SportsWire Daily

Get the 1500 ESPN SportsWire delivered to your inbox daily, and keep up with all the news in Twin Cities Sports

Signup!

EDEN PRAIRIE, Minn. -- There was a very good reason for all the confusion that surrounded the replay review of Mistral Raymond's 52-yard touchdown return of a Matt Forte fumble that ended up being overturned in the Minnesota Vikings' 28-10 loss to the Chicago Bears on Sunday at Soldier Field.

NFL spokesman Greg Aiello clarified Monday that referee Scott Green did not make a mistake in initially saying the touchdown had been upheld upon the automatic review of all scoring plays.

Rather, that is exactly what happened before the replay official continued to look at the play and determined an instant replay review was needed.

A closer examination showed that one of Forte's knees was down before the ball came loose, and the potential third-quarter touchdown by the Vikings safety was wiped off the board.

There was more time to look because Forte was injured on the play and had to be helped off the field. Aiello said the replay official did the right thing by continuing to look at the play.

"By rule, the replay official, like the coaches during situations in which they can challenge, has until the next legal snap to challenge a play," he said. "In the case of the replay official, this is done by alerting the referee to stop the game.

"In this instance, after initially confirming the on-field ruling, the replay official continued to analyze the replays and, before the extra point, determined that referee Scott Green needed to stop the game for an instant replay review.

"This is not related at all to the situation with coaches, in which they are penalized for challenging a play that is subject to review only by the replay official."

Aiello was referring to the decision by Detroit Lions coach Jim Schwartz to throw his challenge flag last Thursday after Justin Forsett's 81-yard touchdown was allowed to stand despite replays showing his knee and elbow touched the turf about 7 yards into his run.

The problem was that all scoring plays are automatically reviewed and can't be challenged by coaches. NFL rules state that by Schwartz throwing the flag, he forfeited the right to have the play reviewed.

Tom Pelissero is Senior Editor and columnist for 1500ESPN.com. He hosts from 6 to 8 p.m. weeknights and co-hosts from 10 a.m. to noon Sundays on 1500 ESPN Twin Cities.
Email Tom | @TomPelissero | Tom Pelissero
Judd Zulgad is a columnist for 1500ESPN.com. He co-hosts "Mackey & Judd" from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. weekdays and "Saturday Morning SportsTalk" from 10 a.m. to noon on 1500 ESPN Twin Cities.
Email Judd | @1500ESPNJudd | Mackey & Judd
In this story: Mistral Raymond
6130