LIVE › 4-7 p.m. The Ride with Reusse
NEXT › 5 p.m. ESPN SportsCenter
5:05 p.m. Twin Cities Sports Update - with John Heidt
5:15 p.m. Herman Edwards - ESPN NFL Analyst/Former NFL Coach
5:30 p.m. Dow Jones Money Report - with Bruce Vale from the Wall Street Journal
6 p.m. ESPN SportsCenter
7 p.m. ESPN SportsCenter
Updated: March 14th, 2013 11:35am
NHL's board of governors approves realignment, revised playoff format

NHL's board of governors approves realignment, revised playoff format

SportsWire Daily

Get the 1500 ESPN SportsWire delivered to your inbox daily, and keep up with all the news in Twin Cities Sports


The NHL's board of governors on Thursday approved realignment and a division-based format for the Stanley Cup playoffs, beginning next season.

It creates two eight-team divisions in the Eastern Conference and two seven-team divisions in the Western Conference, grouping teams in a way that makes more sense geographically.

The Minnesota Wild now will be in a division with Chicago, Dallas, Nashville, St. Louis and Winnipeg.

Realignment also ensures all 30 teams will play in the other 29 areas at least once a season for the first time since 1997-98.

The top three teams in each division will qualify for the first 12 seeds in the playoffs, with other four spots designated as wild cards.

Here's the breakdown:

Western Conference

Division A: Anaheim, Calgary, Edmonton, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Jose, Vancouver.

Division B: Wild, Chicago, Dallas, Nashville, St. Louis, Winnipeg.

Eastern Conference

Division C: Boston, Buffalo, Florida, Montreal, Ottawa, Tampa Bay, Toronto,

Division D: Carolina, Columbus, New Jersey, NY Islanders, NY Rangers, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Washington.