LIVE › 1-3 p.m. Garage Logic with Joe Soucheray
NEXT › 2:05 p.m. Twin Cities Sports Update - with John Heidt
2:30 p.m. Twin Cities Sports Update - with John Heidt
3 p.m. ESPN SportsCenter
3:05 p.m. SportsTalk
3:05 p.m. Twin Cities Sports Update - with John Heidt
3:30 p.m. Twin Cities Sports Update - with John Heidt
Updated: August 6th, 2012 5:55pm
No big surprises as Vikings release first official depth chart

No big surprises as Vikings release first official depth chart

by Tom Pelissero
Email | Twitter
SportsWire Daily

Get the 1500 ESPN SportsWire delivered to your inbox daily, and keep up with all the news in Twin Cities Sports


The preseason opener only four days away, the Minnesota Vikings released their first depth chart for 2012 on Monday -- and there were no real surprises.

For the most part, it meshes with the way snaps have been doled out so far in camp. It doesn't drop players for current injuries and double-lists players only on special teams and for a 12th position on defense, the nickel cornerback.

The offensive depth chart refers to perimeter players with the letters "X" (split end), "Y" (tight end) and "Z" (flanker), as they're designated in Bill Musgrave's scheme.

The Vikings open the exhibition schedule at 8 p.m. Friday at San Francisco.


LT: Matt Kalil / DeMarcus Love / Kevin Murphy
LG: Charlie Johnson / Chris DeGeare / Tyler Holmes / Grant Cook
C: John Sullivan / Joe Berger / Quentin Saulsberry
RG: Brandon Fusco / Geoff Schwartz / Austin Pasztor / Bridger Buche
RT: Phil Loadholt / Pat Brown / Levi Horn
X: Jerome Simpson / Michael Jenkins / Devin Aromashodu / Greg Childs / Emmanuel Arceneaux
Y: Kyle Rudolph / John Carlson / Rhett Ellison / Allen Reisner / Mickey Shuler
Z: Percy Harvin / Stephen Burton / Jarius Wright / Kerry Taylor / Bryan Walters / Kamar Jorden
QB: Christian Ponder / Joe Webb / Sage Rosenfels / McLeod Bethel-Thompson
HB: Adrian Peterson / Toby Gerhart / Lex Hilliard / Jordan Todman / Derrick Coleman
FB: Jerome Felton / Ryan D'Imperio / Matt Asiata


RE: Jared Allen / Nick Reed / Jeff Charleston
NT: Letroy Guion / Fred Evans / Chase Baker / Tydreke Powell
UT: Kevin Williams / Christian Ballard / Trevor Guyton / Anthony Jacobs
LE: Brian Robison / D'Aundre Reed / Ernest Owusu
WLB: Erin Henderson / Marvin Mitchell / Everson Griffen
MLB: Jasper Brinkley / Tyrone McKenzie / Audie Cole / Tyler Nielsen
SLB: Chad Greenway / Larry Dean / Solomon Elimimian / Corey Paredes
RCB: Chris Cook / Chris Carr / Josh Robinson / Zackary Bowman / Bobby Felder / Chris Stroud
LCB: Antoine Winfield / Brandon Burton / Marcus Sherels / Reggie Jones / Corey Gatewood
NCB*: Antoine Winfield / Marcus Sherels / Chris Carr / Robert Blanton
FS: Jamarca Sanford / Harrison Smith / Andrew Sendejo
SS: Mistral Raymond / Eric Frampton / Robert Blanton

Special teams

P: Chris Kluwe
K: Blair Walsh
Long snapper: Cullen Loeffler
Holder: Chris Kluwe
Punt returner: Marcus Sherels / Jarius Wright / Josh Robinson / Bryan Walters
Kick returner: Percy Harvin / Marcus Sherels / Jarius Wright / Stephen Burton / Josh Robinson

Tom Pelissero is Senior Editor and columnist for He hosts from 6 to 8 p.m. weeknights and co-hosts from 10 a.m. to noon Sundays on 1500 ESPN Twin Cities.
Email Tom | @TomPelissero | Tom Pelissero
In this story: Jared Allen, Emmanuel Arceneaux, Devin Aromashodu, Matt Asiata, Chase Baker, Christian Ballard, Joe Berger, McLeod Bethel-Thompson, Robert Blanton, Zackary Bowman, Jasper Brinkley, Pat Brown, Brandon Burton, Stephen Burton, John Carlson, Chris Carr, Greg Childs, Audie Cole, Derrick Coleman, Chris Cook, Ryan D'Imperio, Larry Dean, Chris DeGeare, Solomon Elimimian, Rhett Ellison, Fred Evans, Bobby Felder, Jerome Felton, Eric Frampton, Brandon Fusco, Corey Gatewood, Toby Gerhart, Chad Greenway, Everson Griffen, Letroy Guion, Trevor Guyton, Percy Harvin, Erin Henderson, Lex Hilliard, Tyler Holmes, Levi Horn, Anthony Jacobs, Michael Jenkins, Charlie Johnson, Reggie Jones, Kamar Jorden, Matt Kalil, Chris Kluwe, Phil Loadholt, Cullen Loeffler, DeMarcus Love, Tyrone McKenzie, Marvin Mitchell, Tyler Nielsen, Ernest Owusu, Corey Paredes, Austin Pasztor, Adrian Peterson, Christian Ponder, Tydreke Powell, Mistral Raymond, D'Aundre Reed, Nick Reed, Allen Reisner, Josh Robinson, Brian Robison, Sage Rosenfels, Kyle Rudolph, Jamarca Sanford, Quentin Saulsberry, Geoff Schwartz, Andrew Sendejo, Marcus Sherels, Mickey Shuler, Jerome Simpson, Harrison Smith, John Sullivan, Kerry Taylor, Jordan Todman, Blair Walsh, Bryan Walters, Joe Webb, Kevin Williams, Antoine Winfield, Jarius Wright