LIVE › 9-11:59 p.m. Sports Center Tonight
NEXT › 10 p.m. ESPN SportsCenter
11 p.m. ESPN SportsCenter
Midnight ESPN SportsCenter
Updated: February 4th, 2012 7:03pm
Terrell Suggs beats out Jared Allen for defensive player of the year

Terrell Suggs beats out Jared Allen for defensive player of the year

by Tom Pelissero
Email | Twitter
SportsWire Daily

Get the 1500 ESPN SportsWire delivered to your inbox daily, and keep up with all the news in Twin Cities Sports


Jared Allen's 22 sacks this past season earned him a lot of awards -- just not Associatd Press Defensive Player of the Year.

The NFL's premier defensive award was given on Saturday night to Baltimore outside linebacker Terrell Suggs, who received 21 votes from a panel of 50 writers to Allen's 14.

A first-team All-Pro and starter in the Pro Bowl, Allen came with a half-sack of Michael Strahan's single-season NFL record for sacks. He also forced four fumbles and had an interception and a safety but no doubt was downgraded by some voters for the Vikings' 3-13 record.

Suggs had 14 sacks, forced seven fumbles and had two interceptions for the Ravens, who lost in the AFC championship game to New England.

Drew Brees was named the AP Offensive Player of the Year. Green Bay's Aaron Rodgers was named Most Valuable Player.

Detroit's Matthew Stafford was named Comeback Player of the Year. San Francisco's Jim Harbaugh was named Coach of the Year. Carolina's Cam Newton and Denver's Von Miller were offensive and defensive rookie of the year, respectively.

Tom Pelissero is Senior Editor and columnist for He hosts from 6 to 8 p.m. weeknights and co-hosts from 10 a.m. to noon Sundays on 1500 ESPN Twin Cities.
Email Tom | @TomPelissero | Tom Pelissero
In this story: Jared Allen