Updated: January 11th, 2013 9:20am
Vikings great Cris Carter among 15 modern-era finalists for Hall

Vikings great Cris Carter among 15 modern-era finalists for Hall

by Tom Pelissero
Email | Twitter
SportsWire Daily

Get the 1500 ESPN SportsWire delivered to your inbox daily, and keep up with all the news in Twin Cities Sports


Cris Carter once again is among the 15 modern-era finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Carter played 16 NFL seasons, including 12 seasons (1990 to 2001) with the Minnesota Vikings. He retired after the 2002 season and still ranks among the league's top 10 all-time in receptions (1,101), receiving yards (13,899) and receiving touchdowns (130).

Fellow receivers Art Monk (2008), Bob Hayes (2009) and Jerry Rice (2010) all have been selected over Carter, who is in his sixth year of eligibility. No receivers selected the past two years.

There are two other receivers among this year's finalists -- Tim Brown and Andre Reed, who, like Carter, were finalists but fell short last year.

The selection committee will meet Feb. 2 to select this year's class, with results announced later in the day. The maximum number of modern-era inductees is five.

The rest of the modern-era finalists include: guard/tackle Larry Allen, running back Jerome Bettis, owner Edward DeBartolo, Jr., linebacker/end Kevin Greene, end/linebacker Charles Haley, owner Art Modell, tackle Jonathan Ogden, coach Bill Parcells, defensive tackle Warren Sapp, guard Will Shields, end Michael Strahan and cornerback/safety Aeneas Williams.

Lineman Curley Culp and linebacker/place-kicker Dave Robinson are on the ballot as senior nominees.

Tom Pelissero is Senior Editor and columnist for 1500ESPN.com. He hosts from 6 to 8 p.m. weeknights and co-hosts from 10 a.m. to noon Sundays on 1500 ESPN Twin Cities.
Email Tom | @TomPelissero | Tom Pelissero